In response to the growing concerns from the small-scale mining sector, Secretary Roy A. Cimatu of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) issued Department Memorandum Circular (DMC) No. 2018-05, clarifying that small-scale mining projects in duly declared People’s Small-scale Mining Areas, or Minahang Bayan, pursuant to Republic Act (RA) No. 7076, or the People’s Small-Scale Mining Act of 1991, are not covered by the moratorium on the acceptance, processing and/or approval of new mining projects, as provided under Department Memorandum Order (DMO) No. 2016-01 .

DMC No. 2018-05, or the Non-Coverage of Small-Scale Mining Projects from Department Memorandum Order No. 2016-01, was signed on June 18, 2018.

To recall, DMO No. 2016-01, or the Audit of All Operating Mines and Moratorium on New Mining Projects, was issued by then DENR Secretary Gina Lopez in 2016.

Recently, small-scale mining projects in declared Minahang Bayan areas expressed concern, particularly on the issuance of Small-Scale Mining Contracts and Environmental Compliance Certificates, following the provisions of DMO No. 2016-01.

By: Mining Technology Division

MTD July 18. 2018 1


Latest Updates
Back to Top